A Passionate Legal Advocate Striving to Bring Justice to All
McKinney Criminal Defense Attorney
Skilled Criminal Defense in Anna, Melissa, Prosper, Frisco, Plano, & Wylie
Being investigated or charged with committing a crime in Texas, especially when you did not commit one, is a very serious, overwhelming, and stressful experience. If you have been charged with a crime, it is important that you hire a skilled McKinney criminal defense attorney to assist in keeping a bad situation from being much worse than it needs to be.
The Game Plan
At NO Law Firm, you can expect exactly what you deserve from your attorney: A dedicated, competent, honest, and knowledgeable lawyer who will provide you with an aggressive defense. We will explore every aspect of your case and meticulously review every piece of evidence.
What’s at Stake?
The Texas Penal Code classifies crimes into two broad areas: Misdemeanors and felonies. Within these areas, different levels of seriousness will determine the potential punishment one could face if convicted. Below, you can find the ordinary maximum punishments for each classification when the individual is over 18 years old at the time the offense was committed.
- Class A (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.21.): Fine not to exceed $4,000 and/or jail term of no greater than one year
- Class B (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.22.): Fine not to exceed $2,000 and/or jail term of no greater than 180 days
- Class C (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.23.): Fine not to exceed $500
- Capital felony (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.31.): Life in prison without parole or death
- First degree (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.32.): Fine not to exceed $10,000 and either life in prison or prison term of between five and 99 years
- Second degree (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.33.): Fine not to exceed $10,000 and prison term of between two and 20 years
- Third degree (Tex. Penal Code Ann. §1 2.34.): Fine not to exceed $10,000 and prison term of between two and 10 years
- State jail (Tex. Penal Code Ann. §§ 12.04, 12.35.): Fine not to exceed $10,000 and state jail term of between 180 days and 2 years
Reach Out Today for Experienced Legal Help
Nii Amaa Ollennu wants to make sure you know the potential penalties and the options available to you. He provides skilled legal advice in McKinney and surrounding communities.
What Are the Drunk Driving Laws in Texas?
In Texas, laws for drunken driving are based upon your BAC (blood alcohol concentration), that is above the legal limit, while operating a vehicle. The enforced legal limits are below:
- Under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 or more
- Drivers of all ages, a BAC of .08 or more
- Any commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of .04 or more
Anytime you exceed this limit, you run the risk of getting convicted for a DWI.
If This Is My First DWI, Will I Receive Jail Time?If this is your first alcohol related offense, then you will most likely avoid any jail time. However, this depends on the details of your case.
Will I Lose My License if I am Charged with a DWI?
A DWI offense in Texas can lead to a suspension of your license for a period of 90 days up to 2 years. The length of suspension is determined based on a few different factors.
- The driver’s age
- Blood alcohol level
- Circumstances of the offense
- Prior convictions.
What Are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?
In Texas, the state has a wide range of charges for a drunk driving charge.
- A fine of up to $10,000
- License suspension for 90 days to two years
- Installation of an interlock ignition device
- Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment
- Seventy-two hours to 10 years in jail
The severity of your charges can range based on if you have prior DWI convictions. If you do, that would likely lead to more serious charges.
Can My DWI Case Get Dismissed?In some cases, you can get a DWI dismissed or reduced charges. This depends heavily on the factors of the case. It is always in your best interest to hire a skilled attorney to assist you through your legal troubles.