A Passionate Legal Advocate Striving to Bring Justice to All
When to Hire a DWI Attorney
What to Do When You’ve Been Pulled Over in Texas
Drinking and driving is never a good idea, but sometimes good people make mistakes. If you've been pulled over for DWI, it's important to know your rights and how a DWI lawyer can help minimize the potential consequences. DWI charges can have a serious impact on your life, but with the help of NO Law Firm, you may be able to protect your driving privileges, avoid jail time, and minimize fines and other penalties.
Like with any criminal charge, having a legal professional – one with an in-depth knowledge of the laws and how to apply them to your specific case – is vital to the success of your case. It is never recommended that you represent yourself, as a lawyer has the necessary training and experience to build your defense and fight for your best interests.
When you’ve been pulled over, work with NO Law Firm. We offer judgement-free representation and will get to know you as a person, not another case number. Discuss your case with our lawyer – call (469) 575-6656 to schedule your free consultation.
Protect Yourself from Serious Penalties
Drunk or impaired driving is a serious offense in Texas. If you are arrested for DWI, you could face severe penalties. If you are convicted of DWI in Texas, you could face a number of penalties, including:
- Thousands of dollars in fines
- Jail time
- License suspension or revocation
- Mandatory community service
A first-time DWI conviction, classified as a Class B misdemeanor in Texas, can result in a fine of up to $2,000, jail time of up to 180 days, and a loss of your license for up to one year. A second DWI conviction within 10 years of the first, which is a Class A misdemeanor, can result in a fine of up to $4,000, jail time of up to one year, and two years license suspension. Penalties for subsequent convictions increase substantially, and you may also face felony charges, depending on the circumstances of your arrest, such as if someone was seriously injured or killed as a result of the accident.
Getting to the Bottom of Your DWI Charge
Your DWI attorney will review the circumstances surrounding your arrest, including any potential Constitutional violations, problems with the field sobriety tests or breathalyzer, or other errors that may have occurred during the process that could result in a dismissal of the DWI charges against you. We can also review the police report and evidence to develop a proper defense strategy and negotiate with prosecutors to reduce the charges against to keep your driving privileges intact.
DWI lawyers also work to review any potential plea bargains that may be offered. Your attorney can advise you on any plea agreements that are offered and help negotiate more favorable terms. We can provide valuable insight into what it may mean for your case to accept or reject a plea deal.
Our lawyer is experienced in the laws and regulations pertaining to DWI offenses, as well as local court proceedings. Our knowledge can be invaluable when fighting your case and minimizing the consequences of a DWI charge.
If you are facing a DWI charge in McKinney, Texas, it is important to secure the assistance of an experienced attorney as soon as possible. We’ll work quickly to assess your case and develop a defense strategy that will work to reduce or eliminate the potential legal consequences of your arrest.
Contact NO Law Firm online today! We serve clients in McKinney, Anna, Melissa, Prosper, Frisco, Plano, Wylie, and surrounding areas.
What Are the Drunk Driving Laws in Texas?
In Texas, laws for drunken driving are based upon your BAC (blood alcohol concentration), that is above the legal limit, while operating a vehicle. The enforced legal limits are below:
- Under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 or more
- Drivers of all ages, a BAC of .08 or more
- Any commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of .04 or more
Anytime you exceed this limit, you run the risk of getting convicted for a DWI.
If This Is My First DWI, Will I Receive Jail Time?If this is your first alcohol related offense, then you will most likely avoid any jail time. However, this depends on the details of your case.
Will I Lose My License if I am Charged with a DWI?
A DWI offense in Texas can lead to a suspension of your license for a period of 90 days up to 2 years. The length of suspension is determined based on a few different factors.
- The driver’s age
- Blood alcohol level
- Circumstances of the offense
- Prior convictions.
What Are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?
In Texas, the state has a wide range of charges for a drunk driving charge.
- A fine of up to $10,000
- License suspension for 90 days to two years
- Installation of an interlock ignition device
- Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment
- Seventy-two hours to 10 years in jail
The severity of your charges can range based on if you have prior DWI convictions. If you do, that would likely lead to more serious charges.
Can My DWI Case Get Dismissed?In some cases, you can get a DWI dismissed or reduced charges. This depends heavily on the factors of the case. It is always in your best interest to hire a skilled attorney to assist you through your legal troubles.