Drivers License Suspension

A Passionate Legal Advocate Striving to Bring Justice to All

McKinney Driver’s License Suspension Attorney

Vigorous Defense of Your Driving Privileges in Anna, Melissa, Prosper, Frisco, Plano, & Wylie

If your driver’s license has been suspended or may be suspended in the near future, you should contact an attorney as soon as possible. Getting your license reinstated can be a long and costly process but resolving the problem may be less complicated than you imagine.

At NO Law Firm, we understand that your ability to drive your car or truck may be vital to your livelihood and your ability to care for your family. We welcome the opportunity to devise a strategy to protect or recover your driver’s license.

Circumstances Leading to a Driver’s License Suspension or Threat of Suspension

Remember: There is always a way forward. 

From our McKinney-based law firm, we can assist you in driver’s license suspension cases such as:

  • Administrative license revocation (ALR): Get legal counsel after a driver’s license suspension when you failed or refused to take the breath test before a driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrest.
  • DWI conviction suspension: Even after a DWI conviction, you can apply for a temporary license called an occupational driver’s license (ODL) that will allow you to continue driving for work, school, and essential household duties.
  • Habitual violator suspension: Act promptly if you have been notified that you have had too many traffic tickets within a specific time frame. You may be able to contest one or more of those tickets.
  • State surcharge suspension: Did you fail to pay the taxes associated with points on your driver’s license? Paying what you owe may solve the problem. In the meantime, you may qualify for an ODL. Ask us for help streamlining the process of getting an ODL and then getting your regular license back.

Helping Commercial Drivers Fight License Suspension

If you had (or still have) a commercial driver’s license (CDL), we understand that your license is the key to your livelihood. Attorney Nii Amaa Ollennu is committed to helping you stay on the road with as little disruption as possible. Let him review your case to help you discover and pursue the most effective way back to life as usual.

We Will Treat You Like Family

Imagine how zealously we might help our own brother, sister, mother, father, son, or daughter in a situation like yours — rest assured, we will apply the same care and diligence to your case. 

Schedule a free consultation by calling (469) 575-6656 or sending us a message.

DWI Frequently Asked Questions

  • What Are the Drunk Driving Laws in Texas?

    In Texas, laws for drunken driving are based upon your BAC (blood alcohol concentration), that is above the legal limit, while operating a vehicle. The enforced legal limits are below:

    • Under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 or more
    • Drivers of all ages, a BAC of .08 or more
    • Any commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of .04 or more

    Anytime you exceed this limit, you run the risk of getting convicted for a DWI.

  • If This Is My First DWI, Will I Receive Jail Time?
    If this is your first alcohol related offense, then you will most likely avoid any jail time. However, this depends on the details of your case.
  • Will I Lose My License if I am Charged with a DWI?

    A DWI offense in Texas can lead to a suspension of your license for a period of 90 days up to 2 years. The length of suspension is determined based on a few different factors.

    • The driver’s age 
    • Blood alcohol level
    • Circumstances of the offense
    • Prior convictions.
  • What Are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?

    In Texas, the state has a wide range of charges for a drunk driving charge.

    • A fine of up to $10,000
    • License suspension for 90 days to two years
    • Installation of an interlock ignition device
    • Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment
    • Seventy-two hours to 10 years in jail

    The severity of your charges can range based on if you have prior DWI convictions. If you do, that would likely lead to more serious charges.

  • Can My DWI Case Get Dismissed?
    In some cases, you can get a DWI dismissed or reduced charges. This depends heavily on the factors of the case. It is always in your best interest to hire a skilled attorney to assist you through your legal troubles.