A Passionate Legal Advocate Striving to Bring Justice to All
DWI Attorney in McKinney, Texas
In Texas, a person is legally intoxicated at a BAC level of .08% or higher and may be arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). DWI is a severe offense and one that often causes a domino effect that can cause damage for many years to come. These consequences include a suspension of your driver’s license, hefty fines, and potential jail time if you’re found guilty. In addition, a conviction for driving while intoxicated – especially if the crash leads to injury or death – can land you significant time behind bars.
If you have been charged with DWI, it’s important that you work with an experienced defense attorney who can outline a strong legal defense for your case. Nii Amaa Ollennu has years of experience defending clients throughout McKinney, Texas, and the surrounding areas. He will help you navigate the legal process and identify strategies to fight your charges and fight to keep your driving privileges.
Not Hiring a DWI Attorney Could Cost You Your License
Whether you’re a repeat offender or this is your first DWI arrest, it is crucial that you work with an attorney who understands Texas DWI law. Facing DWI charges without an adequate defense attorney can be very risky and can lead to stiffer penalties. A skilled DWI defense attorney can often successfully negotiate with the prosecutor to reach better terms and facilitate a better outcome for your case. Your sentencing will often depend on any previous convictions, but the court can add penalties depending on what else occurred surrounding your DWI.
- A fine of up to $2,000
- Three to 180 days in jail
- Loss of driver’s license for up to one year
- A fine up to $4,000
- One month to a year in jail
- Loss of driver’s license for up to two years
- A fine of up to $10,000
- Two to 10 years in jail
- Loss of driver’s license for two years
Facing a DWI Charge in Texas
Motorists who refuse testing face the following license suspensions period:
- First refusal: 180-day driver’s license suspension
- Second refusal: Two-year driver’s license suspension
- Third refusal: Two-year driver’s license suspension
In Texas, if you receive two or more DWI convictions within five years, you may have to install a special ignition interlock switch, at your own expense, that prevents your vehicle from being operated while you’re under the influence.
Source: Texas Dept. of Transportation
Damage to Property, Injury, or Loss of Life
In cases when damage to property or injury of one or more people occur, you could be facing much steeper penalties. Texas takes DWI very seriously. If you damaged property while being intoxicated behind the wheel, you can expect more penalties attached to your original offense.
If you injure someone while driving under the influence of alcohol, you may be charged with intoxication assault, which is considered a third-degree felony in Texas. For a DWI charge to warrant an intoxication assault, the injuries must meet certain requirements. The person injured must face long-term or permanent disability. In many cases, intoxication assault charges are used when life-threatening injuries occurred.
If someone died in your DWI accident, you could be facing a charge of intoxication manslaughter. In cases when the individual who was killed was a law enforcement officer or a first responder, you can face a first-degree felony charge that carries the potential of a 99-year prison sentence.
Minimizing the Consequences of a DWI Charge in McKinney, Texas
Not all DWI cases are clear cut. In many cases, the evidence is obtained under false circumstances.
It is important to have an attorney who will investigate the following:
- The legality of the traffic stop
- Admissibility of breath and blood test results
- Violation of rights
- Poorly maintained breath tests
- The circumstances behind field sobriety tests
- Any other extenuating circumstances that could be used as evidence against you
In cases when the above events are found to be true, your attorney can argue for grounds for dismissal or a lesser ruling.
Get Advice from a DWI Attorney in McKinney, Texas
Attorney Ollennu has been helping his clients find better solutions to their criminal charges for years. He has made it his mission to ensure that his clients understand the penalties they face and the options they have moving forward. He provides skilled legal advice to clients in McKinney, Anna, Melissa, Prosper, Frisco, Plano, Wylie, and the surrounding communities.
Call NO Law Firm, today at (469) 575-6656 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a free consultation.
DWI Frequently Asked Questions
What Are the Drunk Driving Laws in Texas?
In Texas, laws for drunken driving are based upon your BAC (blood alcohol concentration), that is above the legal limit, while operating a vehicle. The enforced legal limits are below:
- Under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 or more
- Drivers of all ages, a BAC of .08 or more
- Any commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of .04 or more
Anytime you exceed this limit, you run the risk of getting convicted for a DWI.
If This Is My First DWI, Will I Receive Jail Time?If this is your first alcohol related offense, then you will most likely avoid any jail time. However, this depends on the details of your case.
Will I Lose My License if I am Charged with a DWI?
A DWI offense in Texas can lead to a suspension of your license for a period of 90 days up to 2 years. The length of suspension is determined based on a few different factors.
- The driver’s age
- Blood alcohol level
- Circumstances of the offense
- Prior convictions.
What Are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?
In Texas, the state has a wide range of charges for a drunk driving charge.
- A fine of up to $10,000
- License suspension for 90 days to two years
- Installation of an interlock ignition device
- Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment
- Seventy-two hours to 10 years in jail
The severity of your charges can range based on if you have prior DWI convictions. If you do, that would likely lead to more serious charges.
Can My DWI Case Get Dismissed?In some cases, you can get a DWI dismissed or reduced charges. This depends heavily on the factors of the case. It is always in your best interest to hire a skilled attorney to assist you through your legal troubles.